Accademia Vergani

Travelogue Verona - Magical place and world heritage site

Verona is famous, famous, even world-famous. For over 2000 years the city walls have protected art and culture that move the world, and since 2000 the picturesque old town has officially been a World Heritage Site. A magical place, not only for opera fans in the ancient arena, lovers on the trail of Romeo and Juliet, admirers of architecture and history or the thousands of lovers of Italian wine during Vinitaly. Verona offers something for everyone.

 

Verona is one of the most famous cities in Italy, next to Rome and Venice. It is old, but its beauty is still touching, its splendour testifies to many great moments and a long history. Verona owes some of its oldest stone witnesses to the ancient Romans, first of all its landmark: l'Arena di Verona. The large, impressive and picturesque amphitheatre stands in the middle of the city, in the Piazza Bra, and radiates grandeur and splendour, as if time had only made it more beautiful. In ancient times gladiators fought here, today it is one of the great opera stages of the world. Anyone who has ever sat in the old stone tiers, in one of those much sung about Notte Italiane, under the vast starry sky, will never forget the experience, whether it was an opera performance or a concert. Because not only opera stars love this old, big stage, also rock and pop stars or cantautori love it.

But Verona gained world fame through an Englishman: William Shakespeare. His tear-jerking love story of Romeo and Juliet, dissolving into destruction and drama, has preoccupied mankind for over 400 years, plunging generations worldwide into fits of tears. Shakespeare chose Verona as the setting and created a place of pilgrimage for lovers, happily or unhappily united. Not far from the famous Piazza delle Erbe stands Juliet's reputed childhood home, a monumental structure built by the Del Cappello family. For the most famous balcony in the world, however, it needed tutoring, this was only added later for the many tourists. Also, it is basically not a balcony, but part of a stone sarcophagus. Antonio Avena, former museum director from Verona, wanted more drama and scenery. He was a creative man and in the 1930s breathed new medieval life into a former run-down tavern, sprucing it up with an archway, rose window and this very balcony. Even though you know it's staged, you can still believe it could have happened here, here, where you can touch and feel the centuries, where balmy summer nights inspire the senses. It's so convincing that lovers from all over the world still ask Julia for advice and pin hundreds of letters to the wall. The writing club, by the way, that answers those little letters on Julia's behalf in the cheesy Hollywood flick actually exists. All the many love hopes are neatly collected and answered by volunteers of the Club di Giulietta. They offer nice insights on their Facebook page.

 

  

Once a year, Verona is the big stage for the wines of Italy. When the big international fair, the Vinitaly, opens its doors, it attracts collectors and wine lovers from all over the world, it is the stage for Amaroni and Baroli, for big and small stars from the wine country Italy. Verona is also pleasure. And joie de vivre, with many bars and cafés and beautiful promenades. Who can claim to have marble shopping streets? Verona has them, just like that from the Piazza Bra to the Piazza delle Erbe you walk on the finest marble slabs. And then you're standing in one of Italy's most beautiful marketplaces, the Piazza delle Erbe, surrounded by picturesque Renaissance palaces and guarded by a Romanesque campanile. Just outside Verona, within a stone's throw, is Lake Garda, Italy's largest and, for many, most beautiful lake. With its gentle hills and Mediterranean climate, the 370 square kilometre lake is an ideal destination for excursions and holidays. To the north it borders on the southern limestone Alps, the southern shore merges with the Po plain, and if you turn east you can choose between the three great wine-growing areas of Valpolicella, Bordolino or Soave. It is almost as popular and sought after by tourists as Verona, but you can still find a place to soak up that very special feeling. A piece of bella vita from bellissima Italia.

Picture: Flavia Vergani | Text: Domenica Flütsch

 

Are you interested in more articles of this kind? Add our latest Edizione Vergani magazine to your shopping cart for free at checkout or subscribe to our newsletter.

Vergani - The Film
A family with a history.
to the film
online shop
Immerse yourself in our wide and unique range of products.
Welcome

Accademia Vergani

Récit de voyage Vérone - Lieu magique et site du patrimoine mondial

Vérone est célèbre, célèbre, voire mondialement connue. Depuis plus de 2000 ans, les remparts de la ville protègent l'art et la culture qui font bouger le monde. Depuis 2000, la vieille ville pittoresque est officiellement inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l'humanité. Un lieu magique, non seulement pour les amateurs d'opéra dans l'arène antique, les amoureux sur la piste de Roméo et Juliette, les admirateurs de l'architecture et de l'histoire ou les milliers d'amateurs de vin italien pendant Vinitaly. Vérone offre quelque chose pour tout le monde.

 

Vérone est l'une des villes les plus célèbres d'Italie, à côté de Rome et de Venise. Elle est ancienne, mais sa beauté est encore touchante, sa splendeur témoigne de nombreux grands moments et d'une longue histoire. Vérone doit certains de ses plus anciens témoins de pierre aux anciens Romains, tout d'abord son emblème : l'Arena di Verona. Le grand amphithéâtre, impressionnant et pittoresque, se dresse au milieu de la ville, sur la Piazza Bra, et rayonne de grandeur et de splendeur, comme si le temps n'avait fait que l'embellir. Dans les temps anciens, les gladiateurs se battaient ici, aujourd'hui c'est l'une des grandes scènes d'opéra du monde. Quiconque s'est déjà assis dans les vieux gradins de pierre, dans l'un de ces endroits où l'on chante beaucoup la Notte Italiane, sous le vaste ciel étoilé, n'oubliera jamais cette expérience, qu'il s'agisse d'une représentation d'opéra ou d'un concert. Car il n'y a pas que les stars de l'opéra qui aiment cette vieille et grande scène, les stars du rock et de la pop ou les cantautori l'aiment aussi.

Mais Vérone a acquis une renommée mondiale grâce à un Anglais : William Shakespeare. L'histoire d'amour déchirante de Roméo et Juliette, qui se dissout dans la destruction et le drame, préoccupe l'humanité depuis plus de 400 ans, plongeant des générations du monde entier dans des crises de larmes. Shakespeare a choisi Vérone comme cadre et a créé un lieu de pèlerinage pour les amoureux, heureux ou malheureux, unis. Non loin de la célèbre Piazza delle Erbe se trouve la réputée maison d'enfance de Juliette, une structure monumentale construite par la famille Del Cappello. Mais pour le balcon le plus célèbre du monde, il fallait un tutorat, qui n'a été ajouté que plus tard pour les nombreux touristes. De plus, il ne s'agit pas d'un balcon, mais d'une partie d'un sarcophage en pierre. Antonio Avena, ancien directeur de musée de Vérone, voulait plus de drame et de décor. C'était un homme créatif et, dans les années 1930, il a redonné vie à une ancienne taverne délabrée, en l'agrémentant d'une arcade, d'une rosace et de ce balcon même. Même si vous savez que c'est une mise en scène, vous pouvez toujours croire que cela a pu se passer ici, ici, où vous pouvez toucher et sentir les siècles, où les douces nuits d'été inspirent les sens. C'est tellement convaincant que des amoureux du monde entier demandent encore des conseils à Julia et épinglent des centaines de lettres au mur. Au fait, le club d'écriture qui répond à ces petites lettres au nom de Julia dans le film hollywoodien minable existe vraiment. Les bénévoles du Club di Giulietta recueillent et répondent à tous les espoirs d'amour. Ils offrent de belles perspectives sur leur page Facebook.

 

  

Une fois par an, Vérone est la grande scène des vins italiens. Lorsque la grande foire internationale, la Vinitaly, ouvre ses portes, elle attire les collectionneurs et les amateurs de vin du monde entier, elle est la scène pour Amaroni et Baroli, pour les grandes et petites stars du vin de la campagne italienne. Vérone est aussi un plaisir. Et la joie de vivre, avec de nombreux bars et cafés et de belles promenades. Qui peut prétendre avoir des rues commerçantes en marbre ? Vérone en a, tout comme cela, de la Piazza Bra à la Piazza delle Erbe, on marche sur les plus belles dalles de marbre. Et puis vous vous trouvez sur l'une des plus belles places de marché d'Italie, la Piazza delle Erbe, entourée de pittoresques palais Renaissance et gardée par un campanile roman. Juste à la sortie de Vérone, à un jet de pierre, se trouve le lac de Garde, le plus grand et, pour beaucoup, le plus beau d'Italie. Avec ses douces collines et son climat méditerranéen, ce lac de 370 kilomètres carrés est une destination idéale pour les excursions et les vacances. Au nord, il est bordé par les Alpes calcaires du sud, la rive sud se confond avec la plaine du Pô, et si vous tournez vers l'est, vous pouvez choisir entre les trois grandes régions viticoles de Valpolicella, Bordolino ou Soave. Il est presque aussi populaire et recherché par les touristes que Vérone, mais vous pouvez toujours trouver un endroit pour vous imprégner de ce sentiment très spécial. Un morceau de bella vita de bellissima Italia.

Photo : Flavia Vergani | Texte : Dominique Flütsch

 

Vous êtes intéressé par d'autres articles de ce type ? Ajoutez gratuitement notre dernier magazine Edizione Vergani à votre panier lors du passage à la caisse ou abonnez-vous à notre lettre d'information.

Vergani - Le film
Une famille avec une histoire.
au film
boutique en ligne
Plongez dans notre large gamme de produits uniques.
Bienvenue