×
Set your search filters:
Shopping for
Category
Taste profile
Price
Advanced search

Serracavallo

Where the future lies in the past. Somewhat hidden in the gentle hills of the Valle di Crati, between the Calabrian Apennines and the foothills of the Pollino Mountains, the largest nature reserve in Europe, lies the small but fine Serracavallo winery. Although you can't tell by looking at it, it is significant, a center of power, so to speak. Not because of its size - 32 out of about 50 hectares are dedicated to viticulture and are cultivated continuously, about 15 hectares of which are vinified. The importance lies rather in the person of the owner, who himself drives us over the winding roads high up into the hills: Dottore Demetrio Stancati. When it comes to the new self-confidence of Calabrian wine producers, there is no getting around this man. He is president of the Consorzio dei vini della calabria Citra, the association of producers for the care of old grape varieties, he is the founder of the Dop Terre di Cosenza, founded in 2011, and he is also the owner of the Serracavallo wine estate.

More about Serracavallo

Your search filters:
5 products
per page
In descending order
Quattro Lustri
Terre di Cosenza DOP, 75 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 19.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
-+
Terraccia
Terre di Cosenza DOP, 75 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 21.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
-+
Terraccia
Valle del Crati igt, 150 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 47.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
-+
Vigna Savuco
Terre di Cosenza DOP, 75 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 44.60 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
-+
Vigna Savuco
Valle del Crati igt, 150 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 94.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
-+
5 products
per page
In descending order

Serracavallo

Where the future lies in the past. Somewhat hidden in the gentle hills of the Valle di Crati, between the Calabrian Apennines and the foothills of the Pollino Mountains, the largest nature reserve in Europe, lies the small but fine Serracavallo winery.

 

  

 

Although you can't see it, it is significant, a center of power, so to speak. Not because of its size - 32 of the 50 hectares are dedicated to viticulture and are cultivated continuously, about 15 hectares are vinified. The importance lies rather in the person of the owner, who himself drives us over the winding roads high up into the hills: Dottore Demetrio Stancati. When it comes to the new self-confidence of Calabrian wine producers, there is no getting around this man. He is president of the Consorzio dei vini della calabria Citra, the association of producers for the care of old grape varieties, he is the founder of the Dop Terre di
Cosenza, founded in 2011, and he is also the owner of the Serracavallo wine estate.

But let's start at the beginning, one day earlier, in Cosenza. In this typical Calabrian regional town, Demetrio Stancati and his wife Flaviana give us a very warm and extremely hospitable welcome. You quickly realise that you are dealing with a visionary, energetic man, a down-to-earth intellectual, a mixture of countryman and fine spirit. From the first moment, his passion and love for the land is immediately palpable, as is his extensive knowledge of history and wine. He believes these two are inextricably linked and central to understanding what he is currently trying to achieve in the region. "Our land and the old wine tradition with its original varieties are the basis of our future. They are unique, and we must take care of them and we can be proud of them." When he walks through the streets of Cosenza - there is no other way to describe his walk - he is greeted reverently from all sides, "buona sera Presidente" is said every few meters. He has made a great impact on the microeconomy of the region, but above all on the self-confidence of the people; his enthusiasm is contagious. His chosen favourite is the Magliocco, and he has even founded his own academy to protect and honour it. His commitment and drive do the whole region good in its soul, and for this the Presidente is revered.

He found his destiny and his wine rather late. According to the family tradition, Stancati studied medicine and was in the middle of a promising medical career. But he did not want to practice the profession. He much preferred to be outdoors, in the fields and in the vineyards. In the nineties, he decided to revamp his nonno's small estate in the hills of Bisignano. He invested a lot, extended roads, created plots and, above all, he nurtured his autochthonous vines. And he made wine. Excellent wine from these same old varieties. So we have to go there, to Serracavallo, where his vines and his passion are rooted.

 

 

Via the unctuously named Strada del vino e dei Sapori del Bruzio we are on our way in the graceful Valle di Crati, and suddenly even a flattering and dreamy tone comes easily: the landscape is impressive and lovely, the climate pleasant and made for good wines. The winery is perched at 600 meters above sea level on a sunny slope with breathtaking views all the way to the sea, and the Sila, freshening winds and cooling nights together with sandy yet fertile soils provide perfect conditions. Serracavallo is a showcase for the renewal of Calabria: state-of-the-art facilities in the new cellar, a barrique cellar staged in simple elegance noble and effective. All this testifies to high standards, both in terms of aesthetics and functionality. The treasure, however, is the terroir and its old growths, the land, inhabited and cultivated since time immemorial. Mixed with a portion of courage and a pinch of creative will, the result is an exciting recipe for a promising future. Stancati proudly leads us criss-cross through his realm and shows us the different plots. Meticulously and with the most modern means
the soils were leveled and terraced, analyzed and planted with the appropriate varieties according to the microclimate. Of course, we find Magliocco and Greco, but also new varieties like Cabernet-Sauvignon, Merlot or Riesling enrich the production.

 

 

Here the Presidente becomes reverent and also somewhat philosophical, he speaks of respect for nature, of not disturbing plant communities because they are symbiotically connected, on many levels. "You grow together, you breathe together, you feed together, you nourish each other. These substances also flow into the wine. All of this takes time. Having time is important, so we pay respect to the vines. Also by harvesting everything by hand, in several passes if necessary." On the inviting terrace with a dream view, we are finally served the much talked about, pure Magliocco. The landlord proudly pours his Vigna Savuco, with a round fruit flavor of red berries, an impeccable structure in the background, and yet quaffable and smooth. One of many other trouvailles from Serracavallo's cellars that leave you wanting more. At vini di Calabria, territorio in bottiglie.

Text: Domenica Flütsch | Picture: Flavia Vergani | Source: Vergani Magazine 7

 

Vergani - The Film
A family with a history.
to the film
online shop
Immerse yourself in our wide and unique range of products.
Welcome

×
Définissez vos filtres de recherche :
Acheter pour
Catégorie
Profil de goût
Prix
Recherche avancée

Serracavallo

Où se trouve l'avenir dans le passé. Quelque peu cachée dans les douces collines de la Valle di Crati, entre les Apennins calabrais et les contreforts des montagnes du Pollino, la plus grande réserve naturelle d'Europe, se trouve la petite mais excellente cave de Serracavallo. Bien qu'on ne puisse pas le dire en la regardant, elle est significative, un centre de pouvoir, pour ainsi dire. Non pas à cause de sa taille - 32 des 50 hectares environ sont consacrés à la viticulture et sont cultivés en permanence, dont 15 hectares environ sont vinifiés. L'importance réside plutôt dans la personne du propriétaire, qui nous conduit lui-même sur les routes sinueuses qui montent dans les collines : Dottore Demetrio Stancati. Lorsqu'il s'agit de la nouvelle confiance en soi des producteurs de vin calabrais, il est impossible de contourner cet homme. Il est président du Consorzio dei vini della calabria Citra, l'association des producteurs pour le soin des vieux cépages, il est le fondateur du Dop Terre di Cosenza, fondé en 2011, et il est également le propriétaire du domaine viticole de Serracavallo.

En savoir plus sur Serracavallo

Vos filtres de recherche :
5 produits
par page
Par ordre décroissant
Quattro Lustri
Terre di Cosenza DOP, 75 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 19.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
-+
Terraccia
Terre di Cosenza DOP, 75 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 21,50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
-+
Terraccia
Valle del Crati igt, 150 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 47.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
-+
Vigna Savuco
Terre di Cosenza DOP, 75 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 44,60 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
-+
Vigna Savuco
Valle del Crati igt, 150 clSerracavallo
Serracavallo 94.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
-+
5 produits
par page
Par ordre décroissant

Serracavallo

Où se trouve l'avenir dans le passé. Quelque peu cachée dans les douces collines de la Valle di Crati, entre les Apennins calabrais et les contreforts des montagnes du Pollino, la plus grande réserve naturelle d'Europe, se trouve la petite mais excellente cave Serracavallo.

 

  

 

Bien que vous ne puissiez pas le voir, il est significatif, un centre de pouvoir, pour ainsi dire. Non pas à cause de sa taille - 32 des 50 hectares sont consacrés à la viticulture et sont cultivés en permanence, environ 15 hectares sont vinifiés. L'importance réside plutôt dans la personne du propriétaire, qui nous conduit lui-même sur les routes sinueuses en haut des collines : Dottore Demetrio Stancati. Lorsqu'il s'agit de la nouvelle confiance en soi des producteurs de vin calabrais, il est impossible de contourner cet homme. Il est président du Consorzio dei vini della calabria Citra, l'association des producteurs pour le soin des vieux cépages, il est le fondateur du Dop Terre di
Cosenza, fondé en 2011, et il est également le propriétaire du domaine viticole de Serracavallo.

Mais commençons par le début, un jour plus tôt, à Cosenza. Dans cette ville régionale typique de Calabre, Demetrio Stancati et son épouse Flaviana nous réservent un accueil très chaleureux et extrêmement hospitalier. On se rend vite compte qu'on a affaire à un homme visionnaire, énergique, un intellectuel terre-à-terre, un mélange de compatriote et de fin esprit. Dès le premier instant, sa passion et son amour pour la terre sont immédiatement palpables, tout comme sa connaissance approfondie de l'histoire et du vin. Il pense que ces deux éléments sont inextricablement liés et qu'ils sont essentiels pour comprendre ce qu'il essaie actuellement de réaliser dans la région. "Notre terre et la vieille tradition viticole avec ses variétés originales sont la base de notre avenir. Ils sont uniques, nous devons en prendre soin et nous pouvons être fiers d'eux". Lorsqu'il se promène dans les rues de Cosenza - il n'y a pas d'autre façon de décrire sa promenade - il est salué avec respect de tous les côtés, "buona sera Presidente" est dit tous les quelques mètres. Il a eu un grand impact sur la microéconomie de la région, mais surtout sur la confiance en soi des gens ; son enthousiasme est contagieux. Son favori est le Maglioco, et il a même fondé sa propre académie pour le protéger et l'honorer. Son engagement et son dynamisme font du bien à toute la région dans son âme, et pour cela le Presidente est vénéré.

Il a trouvé son destin et son vin assez tard. Selon la tradition familiale, Stancati a étudié la médecine et était au milieu d'une carrière médicale prometteuse. Mais il ne voulait pas exercer la profession. Il préférait de loin être à l'extérieur, dans les champs et dans les vignes. Dans les années 90, il décide de réaménager le petit domaine de son nonno dans les collines de Bisignano. Il investit beaucoup, étend les routes, crée des parcelles et, surtout, cultive ses vignes autochtones. Et il a fait du vin. Un excellent vin issu de ces mêmes vieux cépages. Il faut donc aller là-bas, à Serracavallo, où s'enracinent ses vignes et sa passion.

 

 

Par la Strada del vino e dei Sapori del Bruzio, qui porte un nom onctueux, nous sommes en route dans la gracieuse Valle di Crati, et soudain, même un ton flatteur et rêveur se fait entendre facilement : le paysage est impressionnant et charmant, le climat agréable et fait pour les bons vins. La cave est perchée à 600 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer sur une pente ensoleillée avec une vue imprenable jusqu'à la mer. La Sila, les vents rafraîchissants et les nuits fraîches ainsi que les sols sablonneux mais fertiles offrent des conditions parfaites. Serracavallo est une vitrine pour le renouveau de la Calabre : des installations de pointe dans la nouvelle cave, une cave à barriques mise en scène dans une élégance simple, noble et efficace. Tout cela témoigne d'un niveau d'exigence élevé, tant en termes d'esthétique que de fonctionnalité. Mais le trésor, c'est le terroir et ses vieux crus, la terre, habitée et cultivée depuis des temps immémoriaux. Associé à une part de courage et à une pincée de volonté créative, le résultat est une recette passionnante pour un avenir prometteur. Stancati nous conduit fièrement à travers son royaume et nous montre les différentes intrigues. Méticuleusement et avec les moyens les plus modernes
les sols ont été nivelés et mis en terrasse, analysés et plantés avec les variétés appropriées en fonction du microclimat. Bien sûr, on trouve le Magliocco et le Greco, mais de nouvelles variétés comme le Cabernet-Sauvignon, le Merlot ou le Riesling enrichissent la production.

 

 

Ici, le Presidente devient révérencieux et aussi quelque peu philosophe, il parle de respect de la nature, de ne pas déranger les communautés végétales parce qu'elles sont liées de façon symbiotique, à de nombreux niveaux. "Vous grandissez ensemble, vous respirez ensemble, vous vous nourrissez ensemble, vous vous nourrissez les uns les autres. Ces substances s'écoulent également dans le vin. Tout cela prend du temps. Il est important d'avoir du temps, c'est pourquoi nous respectons les vignes. Aussi en récoltant tout à la main, en plusieurs passages si nécessaire". Sur la terrasse accueillante avec une vue de rêve, on nous sert enfin le fameux Maglioco pur. Le propriétaire verse fièrement sa Vigna Savuco, avec un goût rond de fruits rouges, une structure impeccable en arrière-plan, tout en étant agréable à déguster et lisse. Une des nombreuses autres trouvailles des caves de Serracavallo qui vous laissent sur votre faim. At vini di Calabria, territorio in bottiglie.

Texte : Domenica Flütsch | Image : Flavia Vergani | Source : Vergani Magazine 7

 

Vergani - Le film
Une famille avec une histoire.
au film
boutique en ligne
Plongez dans notre large gamme de produits uniques.
Bienvenue