Barbera

Today it is one of the three great grape varieties of Italy, ranking third in terms of production volume behind Sangiovese and Montepulciano. This was not always the case. Its reputation was considered badly tarnished before the turn of the millennium. How could it have come to this?

show more

×
Set your search filters:
Shopping for
Categories
Taste profile
Price in CHF
Advanced filters
Your search filters:
Products 1-15 of 19
Page
per page
In descending order
Barbera d'Alba DOC Massolino 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
Massolino 20.40 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Barbera d'Alba Gisep 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
Massolino 38.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Pörlapà Barbera d'Asti DOCG superiore Boeri 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
Boeri 27.90 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Martinette Barbera d'Asti DOCG Boeri 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
Boeri 15.40 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Bionzo Barbera d'Asti DOCG superiore Boeri Limited Edition 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
Boeri 69.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Vigna Larigi Langhe DOC Elio Altare
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 81.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Barbera d'Alba DOC Elio Altare
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 25.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Vigna Larigi Langhe DOC Elio Altare 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 81.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Berta Grappa Roccanivo with HK
Grappa, 70 cl, Italy
Berta 132.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Berta Grappa Roccanivo without HK
Grappa, 70 cl, Italy
Berta 129.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Berta Grappa Nizza Barbera invecchiata 70cl
Berta Grappa, 70 cl, Italy
Berta 68.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Berta Grappa Oltre Il Vallo 70cl
Berta Grappa, 70 cl, Italy
Berta 71.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Berta Grappa Nibbio 20cl
Berta Grappa, 20 cl, Italy
Berta 17.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Berta Grappa Nibbio 150cl
Berta Grappa, 150 cl, Italy
Berta 92.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Berta Grappa Nibbio 70cl
Berta Grappa, 70 cl, Italy
Berta 41.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Products 1-15 of 19
Page
per page
In descending order

Barbera

Today it is one of the three great grape varieties of Italy, ranking third in terms of production volume behind Sangiovese and Montepulciano. This was not always the case. Its reputation was considered badly tarnished before the turn of the millennium. How could it have come to this?

 

1984 was not a good year for Italian red wine and for Barbera in particular. At least eight people died because unscrupulous wine counterfeiters (after the glycol scandal in Austria) had now tainted cheap wines in Italy with deadly methyl alcohol. The confidence in the wines from Italy had reached a low point. Accordingly, the sales figures developed disastrously. It took decades for the market to recover, and it did, thanks to the quality work of winemakers and even stricter controls. Tempi passati.

 

And yet, Barbera still causes confusion today. From the rustic, quaffable red wine without vintage or the slender Barbera d'Alba DOC to the elegant, complex wine with the appellation Barbera d'Asti Superiore DOCG or sounding names like Bricco dell'Uccellone from Braida, there are pretty much all variants and qualities in Piedmont. The adaptable and high-yielding grape variety also originates from here, here (in Monferrato) it was already cultivated in the 13th century. The special feature of Piedmont is the interplay of plenty of sunshine during the day and cool temperatures at night. A climate made for the Barbera. It helps to preserve the acidity in the grape berries and promotes the fruit.

 

The most important Barbera regions are located around Alba and Asti. In the Alba region, however, it is clearly overshadowed by the well-known and noble Barolo and Barbaresco, where the Nebbiolo grape variety occupies the best sites for itself. The Barbera d'Alba DOC shows itself there usually slimmer, more straightforward and with an appealing acidity. In the Asti region, things are different. There, the Barbera prospers in preferred locations, which produces powerful and sometimes also bulky wines. A good Barbera d'Asti DOCG or Barbera d'Asti Superiore DOCG is fruity, with direct cherry and berry aromas, subtle tannin and freshness. It remains drinkable and, when aged in wood, has beguiling toasty aromas. Lighter-bodied, fruit-driven Barbera is an excellent match for Piedmontese cuisine. Vegetable stews, ragouts, pasta, strong sauces. A well-made Barbera aged in wood over time, with its elegant acidity, easily handles hearty dishes, braised meat or game.

Barbera

Aujourd'hui, il fait partie des trois grands cépages d'Italie et se place en troisième position en termes de volume de production, derrière le sangiovese et le montepulciano. Cela n'a pas toujours été le cas. Avant le changement de millénaire, sa réputation était considérée comme fortement entamée. Comment en est-on arrivé là ?

en savoir plus

×
Définissez vos filtres de recherche :
Acheter pour
Catégories
Profil de goût
Prix en CHF
Filtres avancés
Vos filtres de recherche :
Produits 1-15 sur 19
Page
par page
Par ordre décroissant
Barbera d'Alba DOC Massolino 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
Massolino 20.40 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Barbera d'Alba Gisep 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
Massolino 38.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Pörlapà Barbera d'Asti DOCG superiore Boeri 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
Boeri 27.90 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Martinette Barbera d'Asti DOCG Boeri 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
Boeri 15.40 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Bionzo Barbera d'Asti DOCG superiore Boeri Limited Edition 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
Boeri 69.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Vigna Larigi Langhe DOC Elio Altare
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 81.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Barbera d'Alba DOC Elio Altare
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 25.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Vigna Larigi Langhe DOC Elio Altare 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 81.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Berta Grappa Roccanivo avec HK
Grappa, 70 cl, Italie
Berta 132.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Berta Grappa Roccanivo sans HK
Grappa, 70 cl, Italie
Berta 129.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Berta Grappa Nizza Barbera invecchiata 70cl
Berta Grappa, 70 cl, Italie
Berta 68.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Berta Grappa Oltre Il Vallo 70cl
Berta Grappa, 70 cl, Italie
Berta 71.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Berta Grappa Nibbio 20cl
Berta Grappa, 20 cl, Italie
Berta 17.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Berta Grappa Nibbio 150cl
Berta Grappa, 150 cl, Italie
Berta 92.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Berta Grappa Nibbio 70cl
Berta Grappa, 70 cl, Italie
Berta 41.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Produits 1-15 sur 19
Page
par page
Par ordre décroissant

Barbera

Aujourd'hui, il fait partie des trois grands cépages d'Italie et se place en troisième position en termes de volume de production derrière le sangiovese et le montepulciano. Il n'en a pas toujours été ainsi. Avant le changement de millénaire, sa réputation était considérée comme fortement entamée. Comment en est-on arrivé là ?

 

1984 n'a pas été une bonne année pour le vin rouge italien et pour le Barbera en particulier. Au moins huit personnes sont mortes parce que des faussaires de vin sans scrupules (après le scandale du glycol en Autriche) avaient à présent coupé des vins bon marché en Italie avec de l'alcool méthylique mortel. La confiance dans les vins italiens était au plus bas. Les chiffres de vente ont donc évolué de manière désastreuse. Il a fallu des décennies pour que le marché se rétablisse, et ce grâce au travail de qualité des viticulteurs et à des contrôles encore plus stricts. Tempi passati.

 

Et pourtant, le Barbera continue aujourd'hui à semer la confusion. Du vin rouge rustique et gouleyant sans millésime ou du Barbera d'Alba DOC élancé au vin élégant et complexe avec l'appellation Barbera d'Asti Superiore DOCG ou des noms évocateurs comme Bricco dell'Uccellone de Braida, on trouve à peu près toutes les variantes et qualités dans le Piémont. C'est d'ailleurs de là que provient ce cépage adaptable et productif, qui était déjà cultivé ici (dans le Monferrato) au 13e siècle. La particularité du Piémont est l'alternance d'un soleil généreux le jour et de températures fraîches la nuit. Un climat idéal pour le barbera. Il aide à préserver l'acidité des baies de raisin et favorise le fruit.

 

Les régions les plus importantes pour le Barbera se trouvent autour d'Alba et d'Asti. Dans la région d'Alba, il est toutefois clairement éclipsé par le célèbre et noble Barolo et Barbaresco, où le cépage Nebbiolo occupe les meilleures parcelles. Le Barbera d'Alba DOC s'y montre généralement plus élancé, plus droit et avec une acidité agréable. Dans la région d'Asti, c'est différent. Le barbera y prospère sur des sites privilégiés, ce qui donne des vins puissants et parfois même imposants. Un bon Barbera d'Asti DOCG ou Barbera d'Asti Superiore DOCG est fruité, avec des arômes directs de cerise et de baies, des tanins discrets et de la fraîcheur. Il reste gouleyant et dispose, lorsqu'il est élevé en bois, d'arômes grillés envoûtants. Les Barbera plus légers et fruités se marient parfaitement avec la cuisine piémontaise. Ragoûts de légumes, ragoûts, pâtes, sauces corsées. Un Barbera bien fait, élevé en bois au fil du temps, s'accommode sans problème, avec son élégante acidité, de plats consistants, de rôtis braisés ou de gibier.