Elio Altare

In the 19th century Count Cavour promoted viticulture in Piedmont. Very soon Barolo became the "wine of kings" at the court of that time. Crowned heads are no longer in demand today, but people like Elio Altare are: winemakers who know how to make royal wine. His private wine cellar resembles a royal treasury. In the racks Barbera and Barolo of all vintages are stored. Even 20-year-old Dolcetto, which one should actually drink young. "Not my Dolcetto", smiles Elio Altare mischievously, "recently I tasted the 90s with friends - a dream!" The lively winegrower has participated in 50 vintages. For decades he has been keeping a diary with accounting accuracy, with entries about the weather, grape stages and tastings. The wines in his cellar represent the life's work of a man who has achieved cult status. He waves modestly. "Ma no, I'm a simple winemaker." His home is below La Morra, high above the Langhe. Adjacent to it is his first-class Arborina vineyard. An amphitheater with an excellent microclimate, perfect for Nebbiolo grapes. Elio's father cultivated hazelnuts, fruit and peaches here. "I used to plough with a team of oxen," he recalls. In the working-class districts of Turin, he sold apples and wine in large wicker bottles on the streets. The added value was low, the competition was fierce. The bright young man travelled to Burgundy, studied the great wines and their skilful marketing. Back home, to his parents' horror, he grabbed a chainsaw, felled all the fruit trees and switched to viticulture. When he reduced the grape yield and slept at night in the winery to be close to the wine during the fermentation process, his father declared him completely crazy. If he hadn't acted like that back then, the world would be poorer today with top wines like Barolo Brunate. In 2004, Parker's deep red Göttertrank scored 97 points and Gambero Rosso gave it tre bicchieri. Nor could we enjoy the exquisite Larigi Langhe Rosso. Not to mention the Barolo Arborina he hands me. Vintage 1994! And the tartar that often pours into the glass, especially with older wines? "This is top of the range. No pharmacy sells a better sedative," enthuses the Barolo King enthusiastically.

More about Altare Elio

×
Set your search filters:
Shopping for
Categories
Taste profile
Price in CHF
Advanced filters
Your search filters:
8 products
per page
In descending order
Vigna Larigi Langhe DOC Elio Altare
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 81.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Dolcetto d'Alba DOC Elio Altare 75cl.
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 20.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Unoperuno Barolo DOCG Elio Altare 75cl.
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 306.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Barbera d'Alba DOC Elio Altare
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 25.50 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Nebbiolo Langhe DOC Elio Altare
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 28.40 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Vigna Larigi Langhe DOC Elio Altare 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 81.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Giarborina Langhe DOC Elio Altare 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 81.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
Cannubi Barolo DOCG Elio Altare 75cl
Red wine, 75 cl, Italy
altars of Elio 193.00 CHF Incl. tax... plus shipping
8 products
per page
In descending order

Elio Altare

In the 19th century Count Cavour promoted viticulture in Piedmont. Barolo soon became the "wine of kings" at the court of the time. Today, crowned heads are no longer in demand, but people like Elio Altare are: Winemakers who know how to produce royal wine. His private wine cellar resembles a royal treasure chamber. Barbera and Barolo from all vintages are stored in the racks. Even 20-year-old Dolcetto, which should really be drunk young. "Not my Dolcetto," smiles Elio Altare mischievously, "recently I tasted the 90 with friends - a dream!"

 

 

The lively vintner has been through 50 vintages. For decades, he has kept a diary with bookkeeping accuracy, with entries about weather, grape stages, and tastings. The wines in his cellar represent the life's work of a man who has achieved cult status. He waves it off modestly. "Ma no, I'm a simple winemaker." His home is located below La Morra, high above the Langhe. Adjacent is his world-class vineyard, Arborina. An amphitheater with an excellent microclimate, as if made for Nebbiolo grapes. Elio's father cultivated hazelnuts, fruit and peaches here. "Back then, I plowed with a team of oxen," he recalls. In the working-class neighborhoods of Turin, he sold apples and wine in large demijohns on the street. The added value was low, the competition fierce. The bright young man traveled to Burgundy, studied the great wines and their clever marketing. Back home, to the horror of his parents, he took a chainsaw, cut down all the fruit trees and switched to viticulture.

"I am a farmer. As a 20-year-old man, I was still plowing the land with an ox. I learned to respect the land and the work."
Elio Altare, winemaker

 

When he then also reduced the grape yield and slept in the cellar at night in order to be close to the wine during the fermentation process, his father declared him to be completely crazy. If he had not acted like that, the world would be poorer of top wines like the Barolo Brunate. In 2004, the deep red drink of the gods was awarded with 97 points by Parker and received tre bicchieri by Gambero Rosso. We could also not enjoy the excellent Larigi Langhe Rosso. Not to mention the Barolo Arborina. And the tartar that often pours into the glass, especially with older wines? "It's cutting-edge medicine. No pharmacy sells a better sedative!" the Barolo king enthuses enthusiastically.

Elio Altare

Au XIXe siècle, le comte Cavour a encouragé la viticulture dans le Piémont. Très vite, le Barolo est devenu le "vin des rois" à la cour de cette époque. Les têtes couronnées ne sont plus recherchées aujourd'hui, mais des gens comme Elio Altare le sont : des vignerons qui savent comment faire du vin royal. Sa cave à vin privée ressemble à un trésor royal. Dans les casiers Barbera et Barolo de tous les millésimes sont stockés. Même le Dolcetto de 20 ans, qu'il faut en fait boire jeune. "Pas mon Dolcetto", sourit malicieusement Elio Altare, "récemment j'ai goûté les années 90 avec des amis - un rêve ! Ce vigneron dynamique a participé à 50 millésimes. Depuis des décennies, il tient un journal avec une précision comptable, avec des entrées sur la météo, les étapes du raisin et les dégustations. Les vins de sa cave représentent l'œuvre de toute une vie d'un homme qui a atteint le statut de culte. Il salue modestement. "Ma non, je suis un simple vigneron." Sa maison se trouve en dessous de La Morra, au-dessus des Langhe. A côté se trouve son vignoble Arborina de première classe. Un amphithéâtre avec un excellent microclimat, parfait pour les raisins Nebbiolo. Le père d'Elio y cultivait des noisettes, des fruits et des pêches. "Je labourais avec un attelage de bœufs", se souvient-il. Dans les quartiers populaires de Turin, il vendait dans la rue des pommes et du vin dans de grandes bouteilles en osier. La valeur ajoutée était faible, la concurrence était féroce. Ce jeune homme brillant a voyagé en Bourgogne, a étudié les grands vins et leur habileté à les commercialiser. De retour chez lui, au grand dam de ses parents, il s'empare d'une tronçonneuse, abat tous les arbres fruitiers et passe à la viticulture. Lorsqu'il a réduit le rendement du raisin et qu'il dormait la nuit dans la cave pour être proche du vin pendant la fermentation, son père l'a déclaré complètement fou. S'il n'avait pas agi de la sorte à l'époque, le monde serait plus pauvre aujourd'hui avec des grands vins comme le Barolo Brunate. En 2004, le Göttertrank rouge profond de Parker a marqué 97 points et Gambero Rosso lui a donné tre bicchieri. Nous n'avons pas non plus pu profiter de l'exquise Larigi Langhe Rosso. Sans parler du Barolo Arborina qu'il me remet. Le millésime 1994 ! Et le tartre qui se déverse souvent dans le verre, surtout avec les vieux vins ? "C'est le haut de gamme. Aucune pharmacie ne vend un meilleur sédatif", s'enthousiasme le roi Barolo.

En savoir plus sur Altare Elio

×
Définissez vos filtres de recherche :
Acheter pour
Catégories
Profil de goût
Prix en CHF
Filtres avancés
Vos filtres de recherche :
8 produits
par page
Par ordre décroissant
Dolcetto d'Alba DOC Elio Altare 75cl.
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 20.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Unoperuno Barolo DOCG Elio Altare 75cl.
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 306.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Ceretta Vigna Bricco Barolo DOCG Riserva Elio Altare 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 118.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Barbera d'Alba DOC Elio Altare
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 25.50 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Nebbiolo Langhe DOC Elio Altare
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 28.40 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
La Villa Langhe DOC Elio Altare 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 81.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Giarborina Langhe DOC Elio Altare 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 81.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
Cannubi Barolo DOCG Elio Altare 75cl
Vin rouge, 75 cl, Italie
les autels d'Elio 193.00 CHF Taxe comprise... plus frais d'expédition
8 produits
par page
Par ordre décroissant

Elio Altare

Au 19e siècle, le comte Cavour a encouragé la viticulture dans le Piémont. Très vite, le Barolo est devenu le "vin des rois" à la cour de l'époque. Aujourd'hui, les têtes couronnées ne sont plus demandées, mais les gens comme Elio Altare le sont : Des viticulteurs qui savent produire un vin royal. Sa cave à vin privée ressemble à un trésor royal. Des barbera et des barolo de tous les millésimes sont stockés sur des étagères. Même du dolcetto de 20 ans d'âge, qu'on devrait pourtant boire jeune. "Pas mon Dolcetto", sourit malicieusement Elio Altare, "récemment, j'ai dégusté le 90 avec des amis - un rêve !"

 

 

Le vigneron vif a vécu 50 millésimes. Pendant des décennies, il a tenu un journal avec une précision comptable, avec des entrées sur la météo, les étapes du raisin et les dégustations. Les vins de sa cave représentent l'œuvre de toute une vie d'un homme qui a atteint le statut de culte. Il l'agite modestement. "Ma non, je suis un simple vigneron." Sa maison est située en dessous de La Morra, au-dessus des Langhe. A côté se trouve son vignoble de classe mondiale, Arborina. Un amphithéâtre avec un excellent microclimat, comme s'il était fait pour les raisins Nebbiolo. Le père d'Elio y cultivait des noisettes, des fruits et des pêches. "A l'époque, je labourais avec un attelage de bœufs", se souvient-il. Dans les quartiers populaires de Turin, il vendait des pommes et du vin dans de grands cabarets dans la rue. La valeur ajoutée était faible, la concurrence féroce. Le jeune homme brillant a voyagé en Bourgogne, a étudié les grands vins et leur marketing intelligent. De retour chez lui, à l'horreur de ses parents, il a pris une tronçonneuse, coupé tous les arbres fruitiers et s'est mis à la viticulture.

"Je suis agriculteur. Quand j'avais 20 ans, je labourais encore la terre avec un bœuf. J'ai appris à respecter la terre et le travail".
Elio Altare, viticulteur

 

Lorsqu'il a ensuite également réduit le rendement du raisin et a dormi dans la cave la nuit pour être proche du vin pendant le processus de fermentation, son père l'a déclaré complètement fou. S'il n'avait pas agi ainsi, le monde serait plus pauvre en grands vins comme le Barolo Brunate. En 2004, la boisson rouge profond des dieux a été récompensée par 97 points par Parker et a reçu tre bicchieri de Gambero Rosso. Nous n'avons pas non plus pu profiter de l'excellent Larigi Langhe Rosso. Sans parler du Barolo Arborina. Et le tartre qui se déverse souvent dans le verre, surtout avec les vieux vins ? "C'est une médecine de pointe. Aucune pharmacie ne vend un meilleur sédatif", s'enthousiasme le roi Barolo.